TOURISM EXPENDITURE REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Monday, April 25, 2022, 10 a.m.

Blue Ridge Conference Room, SC Department of Revenue Columbia SC and Via Conference Call

ATTENDANCE:

Committee Members in Attendance Via Conference Call: Dan Blumenstock, Fox Simons, John Taylor, Olivia Young.

Committee Members in Attendance in Person: Staff in Attendance: Doug McFarland, Toni Nance, Daniel Prentice, Jason Rapp, Ed Riggs, Tony Tam

Others: Damita Holcomb, TERC Staff.

CALL TO ORDER /ADMINISTRATIVE TASKS/UPDATES:

- **1. Call to Order:** Chairman Ed Riggs called the meeting to order.
- **2. Minutes:** John Taylor made a motion to approve the minutes from the TERC meeting on January 20, 2022. Doug McFarland seconded and minutes were approved.
- **3. Welcome new Members**: Damita Holcomb and Chairman Riggs officially welcomed TERC's newest member, Daniel Prentice of Dorchester County to the Committee. Mr. Prentice was appointed by the governor at the recommendation of the SC Association of Counties.
- 4. Statehouse Updates: Toni Nance provided the Committee with an update concerning potential legislation that would affect accommodations taxes and tourism. This report is provided as informational only, as TERC as a Committee takes no stance on potential legislation.

REPORTS REVIEWED BY TERC

TERC reviewed the following reporting forms. Should the report warrant, more information will be asked, including questions about 30 percent and 65% funding, mathematical errors, additional information to determine validity of funding and the local governments' accommodations tax committee list and composition. After TERC questions reports, general policy is to discuss the report again at the next committee meeting. If no further action is needed during the initial review, TERC does not communicate with the local government and the report is filed and no further action taken.

Reporting Forms Reviewed by Olivia Young, John Taylor and Daniel Prentice: City of Aiken, Aiken County, Anderson County, City of Anderson, City of Beaufort, Bluffton, Clemson, Greenville County, Greenwood county, Greenwood, Greer, Hardeeville, Hilton head, Jasper county, Lancaster, Lancaster County, City of North Augusta, (request to carry forward funds) Oconee county, Pickens county, Rock Hill, Seneca, Simpsonville, City of York, York County

Reporting Forms Reviewed by Mark Nix and Jason Rapp: Blythewood, Cayce, Cherokee County, Clarendon County, Columbia, Gaffney, Irmo, Kershaw County, Town of Lexington, Lexington County, Spartanburg, West Columbia

Reporting Forms Reviewed by Reviewed By Dan Blumenstock and Tony Tam: Chesterfield County, Chesterfield, City of Clinton, Conway, Darlington county, Town of Duncan, City of Dillon, Easley, City of Florence, Florence County, City of Georgetown, Hartsville, Horry county, Myrtle Beach, North Myrtle Beach, Port Royal, City of Sumter/Sumter County, Surfside Beach

Reporting Forms Reviewed by Doug McFarland, Ed Riggs, Fox Simons: Berkeley County, City of Charleston, Charleston County, , Chester County, Dorchester County, Town of Edisto Beach, Folly Beach, Isle of Palms, Kiawah Island, Moncks Corner, Mount Pleasant, North Charleston, Santee, Seabrook Island, Summerville, Sullivan's island, Walterboro

Forthcoming Reports: Camden, Cheraw, Dillon County, Fairfield County, Fort Mill, Georgetown County, Goose Creek, Hanahan, James Island, Lake City, Laurens County, Manning, McCormick, McCormick County, Newberry, Newberry County, Orangeburg, Orangeburg County, Pawleys Island, Richburg, Richland County, Ridgeland, Spartanburg County, Springdale, St. George, Travelers Rest, Winnsboro

Upcoming: Chairman Riggs will notify TERC when the attorney general responds to a previously request for an opinion regarding the formation of DMOs by a local government.

There being no other business, Dan Blumenstock to adjourn, seconded by Doug McFarland. There being no opposition, the motion was passed unanimously and TERC motioned to adjourn.

Respectfully Submitted

Damita S. Holcomb

TERC Support Manager