TOURISM EXPENDITURE REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

June 16, 2008 Room 2E21, SCDOR 10 a.m.

ATTENDANCE:

Committee Members in Attendance via Phone: Frans Mustert, Chairman; John Curry, Toni Nance, Rod Swaim, and Kevin Yokim. Committee Members in Attendance in Room 2E21: Mark Williams, Lanneau Siegling.

Staff in Attendance: Damita Jeter, TERC Staff.

CALL TO ORDER /ADMINISTRATIVE TASKS/UPDATES:

- **Minutes Approval:** The Committee motioned to approve the minutes from the April 21, 2008 meeting.
- **Travel Vouchers**: Mark Williams and Lanneau Siegling remitted travel vouchers to Mrs. Jeter.
- Governor's Conference Feedback: Chairman Mustert asked Mrs. Nance about the feedback from the Governor's Conference in February. She stated she would forward as soon as the evaluations were compiled.
- TERC Draft Legislation: Chairman Mustert asked both Mark Williams (representing the Municipal Association of SC) and Kevin Yokim (representing the SC Association of Counties) about conversations each had with the aforementioned organizations regarding cleanup language. Both stated that the associations would not approve the language as it did mean changes to the current law. Chairman Mustert asked if they would continue to keep the lines of communication open.
- Resignation of Lisa Martin: Mrs. Jeter received an email from the SC Travel and Tourism Committee regarding a replacement for Lisa Martin, who resigned in February. Brad Dean is the head of the SC Travel and Tourism Committee this year and has identified Andy Cajka from Greenville as a replacement. Mrs. Jeter has emailed Mr. Dean about need to correspond with the Governor's office at this point to speak with Jamie Bach, the Governor's head of appointments. Chairman Mustert said he would follow up with Brad if needed.

RESPONSES TO APRIL LETTERS:

The following entities responded to questions generated by TERC as a result of February's meeting. Those from which TERC voted to withhold funds will receive the chance to provide additional information in person at a TERC meeting or via written correspondence:

Reviewed by Susan Cruse

- Anderson County: TERC was looking for additional information since the original report lacked detail. It was provided and the report is now compliant.
- **City of Hardeeville**: The local accommodations tax committee was not compliant. The City has since appointed someone to fill the cultural vacancy and will let TERC know when the lodging affiliate is in place.
- **Pickens County:** Had improper coding on some of its expenditures. They are now corrected.
- **Greenville County**: TERC questioned whether or not one of the applicants was nonprofit. It was proven that the Southern Hospitality Group Event Management was a nonprofit organization applicable for funds.
- Greenwood County: no response as of yet.

Reviewed by Kevin Yokim/Ed Riggs/Lanneau Siegling

- Chester County: No response as of yet concerning questionable data on the County's "additional information."
- **Richland County**: TERC had previously voted to direct the State Treasurer's office to withhold funds in the amount of \$2,500 from future disbursements, for an event that did not properly apply for funds. After discussion with the County's grant manager, who said the County would not provide additional information, TERC voted to re-affirm its original decision.
- **Spartanburg County**: TERC had previously voted to direct the State Treasurer's Office to withhold funds in the amount of \$1,000 for lack of information on the Foothills Antique Power Association Event. After additional information was present proving that this event is tourism-related, Mark Williams motioned to reverse the original decision and not withhold funds. This motion was seconded by Kevin Yokim and passed unanimously by TERC.

Reviewed by Mark Williams/John Curry

- Horry County: Information not yet received.
- off was a nonprofit organization. After review of additional information, it was proven that it was nonprofit. However, Frans has received word that the Town still wants to divert funds that it has been saving in a fund earmarked for beach erosion taken from its carry forward amount. The City would like to perhaps purchase a privately owned peer. TERC had sent the Town a letter in February reminding it that law stated that must be approved by the Tourism Expenditure Review committee because it had carried its funds over from previous years. The Committee discussed the appropriateness of the peer purchase and asked if it would be in conjunction with a visitor's center or some facility that would make it more tourism-related. Lanneau Siegling motioned that this not be allowed, John Curry seconded. Rod Swaim stated that he and Chairman Mustert would be speaking personally with the City and getting a clearer picture of exactly how they wanted to use the funds. He

asked the Committee to table the motion until they had a chance to do this. This was seconded by Susie Surkamer and passed unanimously by the Committee.

Reviewed by Rod Swaim/Susie Surkamer

- Town of Edisto Beach: Previously, TERC had discovered that several committee members were not appropriate because they were not involved in vacation rentals. However, after additional information, it appears that Mr. Phil Bartles, whose company is involved with rentals, would be an appropriate member.
- Town of Summerville: The local committee is now lacking just the lodging member, filling the vacancy of the cultural member. TERC will ask to continue to be updated on its progress.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of TERC will be announced. Mrs. Jeter submitted a resignation letter to Mr. Mustert on June 5 and will be assuming the duties as executive director of the SC Watermedia Society on July 15. She stated that it has been a wonderful five years working with the Committee and will be assisting Mr. Mustert when he hires a replacement. Mr. Mustert said he would touch base with the Committee to see who wanted to help with the interview process.

There being no other business, the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Damita S. Jeter

Damita S. Jeter, TERC Staff