TOURISM EXPENDITURE REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

February 1, 2016 Market Pointe Extension, SC Department of Revenue Blue Ridge Conference Rom 10 a.m.

ATTENDANCE:

Committee Members in Attendance: Ed Riggs, Kevin Yokim, John Taylor, Mark Nix, Linda Tucker, Olivia Young, Glen Williams, Doug McFarland, Dan Blumenstock, Toni Nance, Joy Young Staff in Attendance: Damita Jeter, TERC Staff.

Guests in Attendance: Hal Stevenson and Gracie Stevenson – Representing City of Columbia Accommodations Tax Committee

CALL TO ORDER /ADMINISTRATIVE TASKS/UPDATES:

- 1. Call to Order: The Meeting was called to order by Chairman Ed Riggs.
- 2. Minutes: A motion was made Doug McFarland to approve the minutes of September 21, 2015 TERC meeting. Second from Olivia Young. With no one opposed, the minutes passed.
- **3. Update from TERC Staff Attorney:** Although Mr. Hoefer was not in attendance, Damita Jeter gave the Committee a report of the deposition she had to give over the summer regarding the Town of Hilton Head and 30 percent funds.
- **4. Legislative Updates/Concerns:** There are currently provisions in the budget that may impact accommodations taxes, but nothing that directly impacts TERC at this time.

5. Review of 14/15 Reports:

Joy, Mark– Cayce – ok, Camden – ok, Clarendon County – ok, Columbia – ok, Gaffney – ok, Irmo – ok, Town of Lexington – ok, City of Spartanburg – ok, Spartanburg County – ok, West Columbia – ok,

Olivia, John and Glen – Anderson – ok, City of Aiken – ok, Beaufort County – ok, Hardeeville – ok, City of Newberry – ok, Oconee County – ok,

Ed, Doug, Linda – Berkeley County – ok, Folly Beach – ok, Charleston – ok, Florence – ok, Florence County – ok, Isle of Palms – ok, Kiawah – ok, Lake Cityok, Mount Pleasant – ok, North Charleston – ok, Moncks Corner – ok, Town of Santee – ok, Seabrook Island – ok,

Dan, Kevin – Hartsville – ok, Laurens County – ok, City of Myrtle Beach – ok, City of North Myrtle Beach – ok, Pawleys Island – ok, City of Rock Hill – ok, York County – ok, Surfside Beach – ok, Sumter County/City of Sumter – ok. Walterboro – Ok, but will write them and ask them not to refer to their billboard as local.

.

Review of 14/15 Reports where questions have been asked:

- Joy, Mark- Cherokee County veterans park sign, softball field lights, Kershaw County – several events were approved by local governments but money not disbursed, City of Georgetown – several expenditures approved but not funded, Georgetown County – beautification costs and landscaping, Lexington County – Columbia Regional Sports Authority Richland County – committee vacancy
- Olivia, John, Glen-Aiken County DMO, Anderson County industry of Lou Mancini on atax committee, Bluffton committee business names, Greenville County committee vacancy, Greenville question all those that were approved but not disbursed, Greenwood County 30 percent recipient, Greenwood committee vacancy, Jasper County vacancy on committee, Hilton Head Island fireworks displays and Wayfinder System, Newberry County Halloween Carnival, Advisory Committee Names, Ridgeland Boys and Girls Club, Seneca- salary cost with museum, Simpsonville –Bacon Labor Day
- **Ed, Doug, Linda-** Chester County question why Olde English did not get 65% funds, Dorchester County Butts and Wings Festival and library limb cutting, Edisto Beach Edisto Chamber Fest, Folly Beach no category numbers, Summerville trolley service and community resource center
- **Dan, Kevin** Blythewood all money goes to historical society, Chesterfield County 30 percent recipient, trade show as its 65% spending, Conway committee vacancy, Darlington County 30 percent recipient is Lamar Egg Scramble, Committee vacancy, Horry County committee vacancy.
- **6. Reporting Forms Yet to Come In:** Charleston County, Dillon County, Orangeburg County (just need committee list), Beaufort, Clemson, Clinton, Dillon, Duncan reported but sent in wrong format, Easley, Springdale, North Augusta, Orangeburg, Port Royal, Travelers Rest

The next meeting of the Tourism Expenditure Review Committee will take place March 21, 2016 at the SC Department of Revenue.

A motion to adjourn was made by Linda Tucker and seconded by Doug McFarland, with the full committee approval, the motion passed.

Respectfully Submitted,

Damita Jeter Damita Jeter, TERC Staff