# TOURISM EXPENDITURE REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

March 26, 2018, Market Pointe Extension, SC Department of Revenue, Columbia, SC Blue Ridge Conference Room, 10 a.m.

#### **ATTENDANCE:**

Committee Members in Attendance (either in-person or via conference call): Ed Riggs, Doug McFarland, Olivia Young, Joy Young, Toni Nance, Kevin Yokim, John Taylor

Staff in Attendance: Damita Jeter, TERC Staff.

## CALL TO ORDER /ADMINISTRATIVE TASKS/UPDATES:

- **1.** Call to Order: The Meeting was called to order by Chairman Ed Riggs.
- **2. Minutes:** A motion was made Olivia Young to approve the minutes of February 12, 2018. This motion was seconded by John Taylor. Being none opposed, the minutes were passed unanimously.
- **3. Legislative Updates/Concerns:** Toni Nance provided the Committee with a legislative update concerning three bills that impact state accommodations taxes currently being debated in the Statehouse. Two of these bills deal with modification of the statue to allow ataxes to be used for flooding repair. She will continue to keep TERC members apprised should they wish of outcomes.
- 4. Legal Updates/Concerns: None at this time
- 5. In February, TERC reviewed Accommodations Tax Reporting Forms and asked various local governments for additional, clarifying information, which was detailed in the February 12, 2018 minutes. Once that information was received, TERC accepted the following reporting forms and has no other questions at this time:

#### Reviewed by Olivia Young, John Taylor and Tony Tam:

Aiken County, City of Anderson, City of Beaufort, Town of Bluffton, Greenville, Jasper County, Newberry County, Seneca, Simpsonville.

#### Reviewed by Joy Young and Mark Nix:

Blythewood, Cayce, Cherokee County, Chesterfield County, Clarendon County, City of Columbia, Gaffney, Irmo, Kershaw County, Lexington, Lexington County, Oconee County, Pickens County, Richland County, City of Spartanburg, Spartanburg County.

#### Reviewed by Linda Tucker, Ed Riggs and Douglas McFarland:

Dillon, Edisto Beach, Folly Beach, Mount Pleasant, Moncks Corner, Santee, Summerville

### Reviewed by Kevin Yokim and Dan Blumenstock:

Clinton, Conway, Horry County, Lancaster, North Myrtle Beach, Orangeburg, Orangeburg County, Port Royal, York County.

6. In February and March, TERC members reviewed and accepted the following reporting forms:

Berkeley County, (Ed, Linda, Doug) Cheraw (Mark, Joy), Dillon County, (Ed, Linda, Doug) Duncan, (Kevin, Dan) Goose Creek, (Linda, Ed, Doug), Hartsville (Kevin, Dan), Lake City, (Linda, Ed, Doug), Sullivans Island (Ed, Doug, Linda)

- 7. Reporting Forms to be received: Camden
- 8. Reporting Forms with Questions: Traveler's Rest, Lancaster County, Springdale, Easley

# **Other business:**

Next meeting date was set for June 4 at 10 a.m. at SCDOR if business warranted.

There being no other business, Doug McFarland motioned to adjourn and Kevin Yokim seconded. The motion was passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Damita S. Holcomb TERC STAFF