TOURISM EXPENDITURE REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

November 13, 2023, 10 a.m., Via Conference Call

ATTENDANCE:

Committee Members in Attendance: Ed Riggs, Olivia Young, Douglas McFarland, Daniel Blumenstock, Tony Tam, Mark Nix, Mark Sexton, Jason Rapp, Fox Simons

Others: Damita Holcomb, TERC Staff and Justin Hancock, SCPRT

CALL TO ORDER /ADMINISTRATIVE TASKS/UPDATES:

- 1. Call to Order: Chairman Ed Riggs called the meeting to order.
- **2. Minutes:** Doug McFarland made a motion to approve the minutes from the TERC meeting on May 5, 2023. Daniel Blumenstock seconded and minutes were approved.
- **3. Welcome New Member:** Damita Holcomb recognized new TERC member, Mark Sexton PRT Operations Manager, City of Rock Hill, who replaces John Taylor as the designee at the recommendation of the SC Travel and Tourism Coalition. Chairman Riggs welcomed Mr. Sexton and thanked John Taylor, who had served on the TERC committee for several years before his retirement. Additionally, Chairman Riggs recognized and welcomed Justin Hancock of SCPRT who was attending on behalf of SCPRT designee Daina Riley, who is out on maternity leave.

REPORTS REVIEWED BY TERC

TERC has previously reviewed 2021-2022 accommodations tax reporting forms during its May 5 meeting. After its review, several questions were asked, and additional information was required. This information included answers to questions about 30 percent and 65% funding, mathematical errors, additional information to determine validity of funding and the local governments' accommodations tax committee list and composition. After TERC questions reports, general policy is to discuss the report again at the next committee meeting. If no further action is needed during the initial review, TERC does not communicate with the local government and the report is filed and no further action taken.

Additional information regarding the following reports reviewed by Olivia Young, Mark Sexton (previously John Taylor) and Daniel Prentice. After the review of additional information all of the following received approval:

City of Aiken, Aiken County, City of Anderson, City of Beaufort, City of Clemson, City of Greenwood, City of Greer, Hilton Head, Jasper County, Lancaster, Lancaster County, North Augusta, Oconee County, *Pickens County, Seneca, Simpsonville

* Although Hagood Mill is an appropriate DMO, Olivia Young will reach out to Lake Hartwell Country to see if they have any input on becoming the 30 percent DMO for the County. The County states that they are trying to qualify other organizations and spend the funding. They are only spending a portion of what they need to. Daniel Prentice agreed they need to put a plan in place and by 2023 report, funding needs to be spent.

Additional information regarding the following reports reviewed by Mark Nix and Jason Rapp. After the review of additional information, all of the following received approval: Town of Blythewood, Gaffney, Kershaw County, Town of Lexington, Newberry

Additional information regarding the following reports reviewed by Daniel Blumenstock and Tony Tam. After the review of additional information, all of the following received approval: Cheraw, Chester County, Chesterfield County, City of Florence, Georgetown County, Port Royal, Surfside Beach

Additional information regarding the following reports reviewed by Doug McFarland, Ed Riggs and Fox Simons. the review of additional information, all of the following received approval:

Berkeley County, City of Charleston, Charleston County, Colleton County, Isle of Palms, Mt Pleasant

Because of new thresholds for some local governments as well as changeover in staff, the following were remitting reports to be reviewed with the 2023 reports or after the meeting. Unless a vote to withhold funding needs to occur, the reports will be reviewed by individual team members and if no further action needed, will be approved. Beaufort County, Camden, Chester, Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon county, Duncan, Fairfield County*, Folly Beach, Florence, Georgetown, Goose Creek, Hanahan*, James Island, Lake City, Lexington County, McCormick County*, Mccormick* Mauldin*, Moncks Corner, North Myrtle Beach, Pawleys Island, Richburg*, Richland County, Springdale, Spartanburg County, Summerville, St. George, Travelers Rest, Winnsboro*, York.

There being no other business, Douglas McFarland made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Daniel Blumenstock. There being no opposition, the motion was passed unanimously and TERC motioned to adjourn.

Respectfully Submitted

Damita S. Holcomb

TERC Support Manager